
Virginia State Income Tax 

 

Important Information Regarding Virginia’s Income Tax Deadlines: Income Tax 

Payment Extension and Penalty Waiver in Response to the COVID-19 Crisis 

 

Bottom line: Filing deadline is still May 1st, but taxes due can be paid up till June 1st without penalty 

(interest will apply). IRS has extended their filing date to July 15th.  

 

Virginia Tax is announcing that any income tax payments due during the period from April 1, 2020 to June 1, 

2020, can now be submitted at any time on or before June 1, 2020, without penalty. As a result, Virginia Tax 

will automatically waive any late payment penalties that would otherwise apply so long as full payment is made 

by June 1, 2020. If full payment of the amount owed during the period is not made by June 1, 2020, this 

penalty waiver will not apply, and late payment penalties will accrue from the original date that the payment 

was due.  

Interest will continue to accrue from the original due date of such payment. Therefore, taxpayers who are able 

to pay by the original due date are encouraged to do so. Taxes eligible for this payment extension and penalty 

waiver include individual, corporate, and fiduciary income taxes, as well as any estimated income tax 

payments that are required to be paid to Virginia Tax during this period.  

Please note that this does not provide a filing extension. To avoid any late filing penalties that may apply, 

taxpayers that utilize the aforementioned payment extension are still required to file income tax returns by the 

relevant due dates. However, if you are unable to file by such due dates, Virginia offers automatic filing 

extensions to all taxpayers for up to 6 months (or 7 months in the case of certain corporations). No application 

is required to file on extension. Please see the Virginia Tax website for more information. If you decide to take 

advantage of Virginia’s automatic filing extension, please be sure to make an extension payment by June 1, 

2020, to avoid late payment penalties or extension penalties, as applicable.  

 

The Commissioner of the Revenue is responsible for receiving and processing all Virginia 

state income tax returns for Page County residents. 

Deadline 

The filing deadline for Virginia tax returns is May 1. 

Where do I mail my return if I live in Page County? 

Commissioner of the Revenue  

103 S Court St Suite C 

Luray, VA 22835 


