Official Voting Information

The Constitution of Virginia requires that persons be registered in the precinct in which they live to be qualified to vote.

Persons may not register and vote on the same day; there is a 5 day waiting period for new registrants.

Please consider absentee voting by mail. Absentee ballot applications are available and encouraged. They may be requested by contacting Carol Gaunt, by calling 540-743-3986 or through the Virginia Department of Elections. If requested online, the time is greatly reduced to obtain your ballot.

Those casting a ballot in-person will need to bring a valid ID.

All requests for reasonable accommodations, due to a disability, should be made to the Registrar with at least 48 hours notice.

Early voting begins on Friday, September 22, 2023 for the upcoming general election on Tuesday, November 7, 2023.  Important dates and deadlines are as follows:

  • Friday, September 22: First day of early voting for the General Election. All early voting is in the County Government Center, 103 South Court Street, Lower Level, Luray, from 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. 
  • Monday, October 16: Last day to register to vote in-person by 4:30 p.m. or online by 11:59 p.m., by mail must be postmarked October 16.  
  • Friday, October 27: Deadline to apply for an absentee, by-mail ballot by 4:30 p.m. (Office number below)
  • Saturday, October 28: Office open for early voting from 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
  • Saturday, November 4: Final day for early voting from 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. 
  • Sunday, November 5: Office Closed
  • Monday, November 6: Emergency voting only, from 8:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. (must meet Code of Virginia requirements)
  • Tuesday, November 7: Election Day; In-person voting; 6:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m. at your assigned polling place.

On the Ballot
Offices on the November 7, 2023, general election ballot in Page County include Board of Supervisors (Districts 2, 3, 4), School Board (Districts 1 (special) 2, 3, 4), Constitutional Officers (Clerk of Court, Commissioner of Revenue, Commonwealth Attorney, Sheriff, Treasurer), Virginia House and Senate, Soil & Water Conservation Director, and Shenandoah Town Council (Special).